The winners of the National Enterprise Town Awards 2018

The winners of the Bank of Ireland National Enterprise Town Awards for 2018 were announced at a gala ceremony in the Lyrath Hotel, Kilkenny on November 28.

The overall winner of the Bank of Ireland National Enterprise Town Awards for 2018 is Letterkenny in Co. Donegal.

The Bank of Ireland National Enterprise Town Awards recognises and rewards towns and villages where businesses communities come together to showcase the spirit of enterprise in their local area. The overall winner will receive a cash prize of €20,000.

The ‘Rising Star’ award

For 2018 there was also a new ‘Rising Star’ category with one prize of €20,000 awarded to the winner – Kells in Co. Meath – for the work the town did with its old printing works. Read more here.

A full list of the 2018 winners is below. Congratulations to all the towns and villages involved.

The city award winners

Overall winner – Galway city

Runner-up – the Liberties in Dublin

The town initiatives of the year

Myshall, Carlow for its ‘Turas Columbanus’

South Regeneration Limerick and the Tait House Community Enterprise for its community garden

Arklow, Co Wicklow for its ‘Town of Gardens’

Clonakilty, Cork for its ‘Friends of Asylum Seekers’ initiative

Mountmellick, Laois for the Mountmellick community arts centre

Thurles, Tipperary for the ‘Cabra Wetlands’ project

The national category winners (who each receive a trophy and a €10,000 prize)

Dunleer, Co. Louth

Kinsale, Co. Cork

Letterkenny, Co. Donegal

The regional winners (who each receive a trophy and €3,000 prize)

Mulhuddart, Co. Dublin

Sandyford, Co. Dublin

Tallaght, Co. Dublin

Cashel, Co. Tipperary

Kinsale, Co. Cork

Ennis, Co. Clare

Dunleer, Co. Louth

Kildare town


Claremorris, Co. Mayo

Monaghan Town

Letterkenny, Co. Donegal

The regional runners-up (who each receive a framed cert and a €2,000 cash prize)

Howth, Co. Dublin

Balbriggan, Co. Dublin

Kilmacthomas, Co. Waterford

Shannon, Co. Clare

Clonmel, Co. Tipperary

Castlecomer, Co. Kilkenny

Kells, Co. Meath

Mullingar, Co. Westmeath

Donegal Town

Westport, Co. Mayo

Sligo town

The regional second runners-up (who each receive a cert plus a €1,000 cash prize)


Castleisland, Co. Kerry

Bree, Co. Wexford

Bray, Co. Wicklow

Clones, Co. Monaghan