We are profiling all the towns to enter this year’s National Enterprise Town Awards. Today we are looking at Lucan Village in Dublin.
Lucan Village is located roughly 12km west of Dublin City on the River Liffey near the Strawberry Beds and Lucan Weir.
Lucan’s name derives from the Irish “Leamhcán” meaning “Place of the Elms”. A slightly more surreal derivation (at first glance) is also purported to be “Place of the Marshmallows” mentioned in Francis Elrington Ball’s “History of the County Dublin” (1906). Marshmallow in this case being, of course, the flower and not the confectionery.
The Anglo Normans arrived in 1159 and settled in what is now Lucan Demesne. The oldest buildings in the district are located behind what is now the Vesey Arms pub. King Henry II granted lands near Lucan Village (now Lucan Demesne) to Alard Fitzwilliam.
The area is steeped in history with King Johns bridge in Griffeen Park being the oldest surviving bridge in Ireland. Lucan is an area of settled families with a good mix of ages. There are 17 schools in total in Lucan Village. There is a strong sense of community within the picturesque village with Kenny’s Pub, the beloved local, really demonstrating this.
Local initiatives in the village include Lucan Tidy Towns, Lucan men’s shed and the Lucan Village Festival, which takes place annually every September. The Lucan B2B Network was set up in late 2010 and since then has gone from strength to strength, with now more than 50 members in the group. Lucan is currently in the process of achieving an Autistic Town status. The village is also in the process of rewarding their local heroes with the Lucan people of the year awards, which is currently being created.
The village are using this year’s National Enterprise Town Awards to bring about further togetherness of all of the local groups and initiatives.
Published: 4 November, 2019