Here are the frequently asked questions and answers regarding the Bank of Ireland National Enterprise Town Awards 2018. 

Questions and answers

  1. Purpose of the competition?

The competition aims to promote enterprise by bringing business and community groups together, in each town, to showcase the spirit of enterprise in their local area.

  1. Why is Bank of Ireland launching this competition?

Bank of Ireland is the country’s largest lender and committed to helping customers achieve their business ambitions. Bank of Ireland recognises that SME’s, Startups and Community Organisations are a significant driver of the country’s success and spirit.

  1. Is this just a sales promotion for the bank?

This is not a sales promotion for Bank of Ireland. This competition is the Bank’s way of recognising the efforts being made by local people to promote and grow their towns and communities and to play its role as a business leader.

  1. What is the local council’s role in the competition?

The competition is held in collaboration with local authorities.        

  1. How are the towns chosen for the competition?

The Towns and Urban Villages/Areas are generally put forward by the relevant local authority. You can also nominate your own town which will be reviewed by your local authority and taken into consideration.

  1. How many entries are allowed from each county or city council area?

There will be a maximum of four entries per county or city council area.

  1. Why is the competition called Bank of Ireland National Enterprise Town Awards when city areas and villages can also participate?

Every city has urban areas and villages that operate as a town in their own right and have distinct identities and local business and residential communities. The definition of a town for the purpose of these awards includes City Villages and Urban areas.

  1. Who are the judges?

The names of the judges and their bios will be made known to the towns organising committee prior to judging.

  1. What is the format of the judging?

Each town will be visited by the judging panel for a three-hour session which includes:

  • 30 minutes presentation by the town
  • 30 minutes question and answer session
  • 20 minutes to meet people socially
  • 80 minutes to visit and view key initiatives selected by the organising committee
  • 20 minutes concluding comments and wrap up
  1. What if our town exceeds three hours?

The maximum time for the visit is three hours and the judges will expect towns to adhere to this timeframe and schedule the visit accordingly.

  1. What are the judging criteria?

See application form.

  1. How does a town enter the competition?

See no. 5 above. Once selected the town to submit application form through ThinkBusiness.ie.

  1. Where do I submit my application?

       Only online applications are accepted here: ThinkBusiness.ie.

  1. There is no Bank of Ireland in my town? Can it enter?

Yes. This competition is open to all towns/urban villages/cities in the Republic of Ireland irrespective of whether there is a Bank of Ireland branch.

  1. Who should I talk to?

Nearest Bank of Ireland branch or a Bank of Ireland Head of County. Contact details below. 

  1. What are the various categories?
  • Small: <2,000
  • Medium small: 2,001- 5,000
  • Medium: 5,001- 12,000
  • Large: 12,001+
  • Cities-urban villages/areas (confined to cities)
  • Rising Star: Project Based
  1. What are the prizes?
Category Prize Number Awarded Total
Regional Runner-Up Framed Certificate + €2,000 16 €32,000
Regional Winners Trophy + €3,000 16 €48,000
National Category Winners Trophy + €10,000 4 €40,000
Town Initiatives of the Year

Framed Certificate + €5,000 x3

And 3x €2,000

3 €21,000
City Award Runner-Up Framed Certificate + €2,000 1 €2,000
City Award Winner Trophy + €10,000 1 €10,000
Overall National Winner Trophy + €20,000 1 €20,000
Rising Star €20,000 1 €20,000

 

  1. Is the overall national winner prize on top of regional and category winner’s prize?

€33,000 is the total prize money for the overall winner (Regional Category winner €3,000, National Category Winner €10,000 & overall winner €20,000).

  1. What are the Town Initiatives of the Year Awards?

These are special cash awards out of a total fund of €15,000 (three cash prizes of €5,000 each) made at the discretion of the judges to projects/initiatives they discover on their judging journey which they believe would benefit from this award.

  1. Who is the prize paid to?

The nominated Organisation as specified in the application form.

  1. Are there any restrictions on how the prize money can be spent?

This is at the discretion of the winning town. However, during their visit, the Judging Panel will ask the nominated organisation what they would spend the money on.

  1. When are the winners announced?

The winners will be announced at the awards night which will be held at The Lyrath Hotel, Kilkenny – 5th December 2019.

  1. Apart from the cash prize, how is the town acknowledged?

Each Category Winner will receive a trophy. The overall winner will receive the trophy and be crowned ‘Bank of Ireland National Enterprise Town Awards 2018 – Overall Winner’

  1. Will there be positive publicity by the bank for the towns?

Press releases will be issued to local and national media and the town will feature in future promotion of the awards.

  1. Can the judges’ decision be appealed?

The judges’ decision is final and cannot be appealed.

  1. Can the entries receive feedback on the judges’ visit and will the marks be available?

If requested, an overview of the judges’ reflections on their visit will be made available. The judges’ marks are not available.

  1. What is the Rising Star Category?

Introduction

The Rising Star award is now in its second year with the award for winning the prize being €20,000. This Award will focus on Towns/Urban areas which have overcome major challenges and can demonstrate how they achieved this.

Please note that a Rising Star submission can only be made for a town that is being nominated for the main competition.

The application must include the following;

  • Details of the town, with key demographics
  • Reason why town should now be considered as Ireland’s rising star
  • Previous state of town and current state
  • What key actions were undertaken-give specific initiatives
  • Current and ongoing initiatives and outline of their impact
  • Details of successful partnerships within town and with supporting bodies, e.g. Local authority
  • Details of how success was measured
  • Details of increased employment/developments/new business in the town and recognition for the town
  • How the award would be spent to promote or improve the town.

A separate judging panel from the main competition will be established. Applications will initially be assessed based solely on the documentation submitted and a number of entries will be shortlisted and visited by the judging panel. 

List of Bank of Ireland contacts by County

Name County Mobile No. Email address
JJ Keyes Carlow 086 3831832 JJ.Keyes@boi.com
Kieran Tuite Cavan 086 2555593 Kieran.Tuite@boi.com
Eamonn Corcorcan Clare 086 8561425 Eamonn.corcorcan@boi.com
Sean Byerley Cork City 086 3838199 Sean.Byerley@boi.com
Eilis Mannion Cork County 086 6792188 Eilis.Mannion@boi.com
Barry Gallagher Donegal 086 3831947 Barry.Gallagher@boi.com
Sean L’Estrange Dublin City Council 087 1160250 Sean.L’Estrange@boi.com
Morgan O’Regan Dunlaoghaire Rathdown County Council 086 0443797 Morgan.O’Regan@boi.com
Karen Cunningham Fingal County Council 087 2539697 Karen_K.cunningham@boi.com
Marie Meehan Galway City 086 9598259 Marie.Meehan@boi.com
Tomas Diskin Galway County 086 2618955 Tomas.Diskin@boi.com
Deirdre Twomey Kerry 086 3820898 Deirdre.twomey@boi.com
Roisin Crotty Kildare 087 9558337 Roisin.Crotty@boi.com
JJ Keyes Kilkenny 086 3831832 JJ.keyes@boi.com
Aine Malone Laois 087 2191946 Aine.malone@boi.com
Tara Rodgers Leitrim 086 2853832 Tara.Rodgers@boi.com
Maria Kelly Limerick 086 2383981 Maria_a.Kelly@boi.com
Ita Gray Longford 087 2141390 Ita.Gray@boi.com
Paula Harmon Louth 086 8564425 Paula.Harmon@boi.com
Michael Costello Mayo 087 9298600 Michael_P.Costello@boi.com
Gary Holligan Meath 087 1440973 Gary.holligan@boi.com
Kieran Tuite Monaghan 086 2555593 Kieran.Tuite@boi.com
Áine Malone Offaly 087 2191946 Aine.Malone@boi.com
Tara Rodgers Roscommon 086 2853832 Tara.Rodgers@boi.com
Tara Rodgers Sligo 086 2853832 Tara.Rodgers@boi.com
Enda McDonagh South Dublin County Council 086 2348245 Enda.mcdonagh@boi.com
Mick Ryan Tipperary 087 0607602 Mick.Ryan@boi.com
Pamela Pim Waterford 087 3631828 Pamela.Pim@boi.com
Ita Gray Westmeath 087 2141390 Ita.Gray@boi.com
Trudy Ryan Wexford 087 9508523 Trudy.ryan@boi.com
Maria Coleman Wicklow 087 9366301 Maria.Coleman@boi.com